top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFAMILY | HOME | LIFE

​​La​vende​r Olive Oil ​

The name of this recipe either makes people really excited or skeptical, I say try it first. I discovered this recipe back in January when I was asked to make a wedding cake for a couple wanting something out of the norm. The first recipe I found that wasn't lavender rosemary or lavender lemon I chose and it was a hit. My husband (Troy) came up with the idea of adding ganache as a filling -the two pair so well together.


The recipe I used calls for vegetable oil but I substituted it for olive oil to give it a richer taste.

I also found that using 2-3 tablespoons of lavender instead of 4 teaspoons helped bring out the flavor more. The lavender I have is not super fresh, so if yours is, I'd stay true to what the recipe calls for.




I recently made vegan lavender cupcakes by steeping the almond milk with 2 tablespoons of crushed lavender, and then strained out the lavender. The cupcakes were moist and it didn't call for any crazy substitute-which I appreciate. The recipe I used was for funfetti cupcakes, but I decided to take the fun out of them and use lavender instead.

One thing I don't do very often is following directions. I follow them loosely but when it says to add all the dry ingredients in a separate bowl I most of the time will ignore that because I don't like having another dish to clean. I typically will cream the butter and sugar, add the remaining wet ingredients and then move on to the dry ingredients. This could be a complete baking heresy but I'm okay with that- I hate doing dishes.


I have included the recipes I used, if you try them, let me know what you think!

Enjoy


https://www.pastryaffair.com/blog/lavender-vanilla-bean-cake

https://minimalistbaker.com/one-bowl-vegan-funfetti-cupcakes/

https://www.marthastewart.com/336094/dark-chocolate-ganache



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page