top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFAMILY | HOME | LIFE

​'90s Bathroom Update

The '90s were all about oak and square tiles. Every home we have bought has been outdated but with just a little love, we have been able to turn them into something that reflects our style. Fixing up a home to be something we enjoy is a big priority to us. When we moved in we painted and replaced flooring and dreamed of one day renovating the bathrooms and kitchen. Since we just renovated our kitchen, we decided to do a little face lift on our hall bath until we can fork up the money to do a complete remodel.

This was our bathroom before we bought our home. About a year in we ripped out the lament flooring and replaced it with tile that we had picked out from our previous home.

After a few months I decided to do an accent wall. I saw some pictures on Pinterest of a dark green wall in a white bathroom and thought it would also look good in this bathroom...but while I was painting the green wall my husband said, you aren't going to like this for long -he knows me too well. It's not that I don't like color, I just enjoy it in small doses around my house. I will now stick to plants for that pop of green I was wanting.




To start the process, I sanded down the cabinet drawers, doors, and the base with 220 grit sand paper. I enlisted my moms help to make the job go faster, and it helped. I wouldn't recommend sanding down everything in the bathroom- take it out to the garage, shed, outside because its a very dusty job. I decided to just sand everything down in the bathroom and created a dustaster. I was cleaning for days after the mess I made.


I ended up painting the bathroom with some paint we had left over from another project. Once I decided on the paint color for the cabinets, I took off all the doors and drawers and began painting the base of the cabinet.


My husband worked on the cabinet doors and drawers in the garage. He sprayed them all and had to wait a day to turn them over due to the weather and the drying period increasing. Usually they recommend to put a primer on before, but since we want to change out the doors and drawers eventually, we decided to skip that step.



Troy was able to spray all of the cabinets in like three minutes, it was ridiculously fast and provides a smooth finish.



Was it worth it? For sure! I put this off for awhile because I dreaded the sanding and painting part - I have painted cabinets in the past, and it wasn't my favorite thing. This went pretty seamless and was a quick update, and now I am ready to update the next bathroom.



951 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page