top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFAMILY | HOME | LIFE

Family Trip


This year we have been more intentional about making time to get away as a family. Now that our kids are 6, 4, and 2 trips have become more possible and been easier. We started off by taking a trip to Colorado which was a week long extravaganza. After this trip, we knew we had to make this more of a priority.





This past week we celebrated my husband's 32nd birthday. He loves the mountains so I booked our family an overnight trip to Truckee. We stayed in a little studio and it was very cozy. I asked Troy several times if he was sure about staying the night in a little space with all the kids (I was looking for an out because I covet my sleep) but he was all for it.





We arrived a little after three o' clock and went and explored rainbow bridge overlooking Donner Lake. This was a fun little stop for the kids to get out and throw a few snowballs, and climb some rocks. One thing we do a lot on trips is quick stops to different places. We don't stay for very long except if it's the beach- the kids can play all day there and be perfectly content.





After, we went to a park and let the kids play while Troy and I played bocce ball- and I'll blame the temperature for my poor bocce skills.




We finished off the evening and headed to our little abode for the night. I had brought some soup I made earlier at home and hot chocolate for the kids. We cozied up, played some games, and watched a movie before passing out. I thought the kids were going to be the reason we didn't sleep but turns out that wasn't the case. Our kids slept surprisingly well while we tossed and turned throughout the night.






We woke up tired but ready to start the new day. Coffee and pastries was our first stop. Then we headed to find a place to sled. There wasn't a ton of snow so we took a back road and found a place we could pull the kids around and have a snowball fight.







Then it was off to lunch at a delicious Mexican restaurant, more coffee, and then a bike ride along the Truckee river. So many good memories were made in that quick trip. It's not always easy to get out with the kids, but I feel like the more we push ourselves out of our comfort zones to go out, the more we all learn how to enjoy the trips even if everything doesn't go as planned.










102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page